Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mounting Tires for Model 79
09-09-2018, 07:55 PM,
Mounting Tires for Model 79
I'm getting ready to mount tires on freshly painted rims for my Model 79. Hoping to get advise as to completing this task without destroying the brand new finishes. The inside ring is easy, but I see a challenge for the outside split rim. Looking online, there only seems to be tools or spreaders for the Model T type spit rims which wouldn't seem to help with the style ring the Overland used. After investing more than 100 hours in these wheels in prep and paint any advise, pictures or videos would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
09-10-2018, 12:01 AM,
RE: Mounting Tires for Model 79
I have some experience here. When I was a teenager, my father had me mount new tires on our 1922 Packard Twin Six touring car. The rims were the same or similar type. These were a three piece construction, wheel rim, outer tire rim, and the split lock ring. All these parts were painted.
I used some pieces of 1X4 pine to hold the outer rim down, compressing the tire and tube. I knelt on these, using my body weight. I then placed cardboard over most of the rim assembly to keep the lock ring from making contact with the paint as I worked the lock ring on. Today I would add a layer of vinyl electricians tape on the wheel rim to protect the paint further. The most dangerous part is the end of the lock ring. I would use an old screwdriver as my prying tool. I would smooth and round all corners, a cover the tip with shrink tubing. Slow and steady is critical. Don't rush, that's when chips and scratches will occur.
Remember to inflate the tires very slowly. Keep checking the alignment and mesh of the rim and rings. Misalignment can be hazardous.
Al Donze
Mt. Sterling, OHIO
09-10-2018, 01:39 AM,
RE: Mounting Tires for Model 79