Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1916 Overland Six, model 86 restoration
09-03-2018, 04:29 PM,
1916 Overland Six, model 86 restoration
Dear All,

I'm currently restoring 1916 Overland Six, model 86. I bought the car in September 2017 and since that time I intensivelly work on the car. Nevertheless time to time I have some questions for more experienced Overland enthusiasts which limits me in my restoration efforts.

I hope there is somebody in the forum who can help me with them. Here are some, but definitivelly these are not the only:

- What should be the clearance between the tappets and the valves. I found in the Operating manual the value 0.005", which sounds me very, very low. I would expect something around 0.01" or even more. I have new valves, not stainless, but new material. Do you have any idea what should be the right valve clearance for this engine (it is Continental L head, 6 cylinder 303 cui)?

- In the Operation manual I see a lot of references to the "Complete Instruction Book". Unfortunatelly I do not have this useful book. Can someone help me with this point?

Thank you,
Vladimir.

P.S. If you are interested in my project, please let me know, I can also share this nice story with you. As a starter, here you can see some pictures of my car comparing the current situation vs. 1 year ago.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

09-03-2018, 06:13 PM,
RE: 1916 Overland Six, model 86 restoration